Con Or Bust: Helping Fans of Color Attend SFF Cons


[sticky post]Sticky Post: Welcome to Con or Bust!
wood cat
kate_nepveu
Welcome to Con or Bust, which helps fans of color/non-white fans attend SFF conventions. Con or Bust now has its own website. Its annual fundraising acount runs from Monday, April 20, 2015 at 12:01 a.m. Eastern (GMT -5) and end Sunday, May 3, 2015 at 4:00 p.m. Eastern; auction items and announcements are crossposted here but all bidding and offering happens in comments at the original post. Come check it out—all you need is an email address, no logins necessary.

Con or Bust is administered by kate_nepveu under the umbrella of the Carl Brandon Society. Learn more about its history.

If you are a fan of color/non-white fan, here is how to request assistance.

You may donate money to Con or Bust at any time with a PayPal account or credit card (more information):







If you represent a convention and would like to donate memberships or otherwise support Con or Bust, please contact knepveu@steelypips.org.

Because spammers are evil, comments are off; email any questions that aren't answered above.

ARC of POISONED BLADE (Court of Fives 2)
wood cat
kate_nepveu
Originally posted at Con or Bust by Kate Elliott. All comments must be made there.

Book coverItem Name & Description: A signed Advance Reader Copy of POISONED BLADE, book two of the Court of Fives trilogy. Also: a Court of Fives bookmark.


Starting Bid: $18.00


Shipping: Worldwide.


Other Notes “Little Women meet American Ninja Warrior in a setting inspired by Greco-Roman Egypt.” Court of Fives is a Young Adult series with a biracial heroine that includes competitive athletics, family, and an examination of colonialism and the complex lives of women in a patriarchal society.


Bookmark



 


Bidding opens on Wednesday, May 25, 2016 at 12:01 a.m. Eastern (time zone conversions). It will close on Sunday, June 5, 2016 at 4:00 p.m. (time zone conversions, countdown) unless bids are received in the last ten minutes (learn more).


Brick from Ray Bradbury's home.
wood cat
kate_nepveu
Originally posted at Con or Bust by John King Tarpinian. All comments must be made there.

Item Name & Description: A brick from Ray Bradbury’s demolished home. Photo available upon request.


Starting Bid: Up to you.


Shipping: Contiguous USA


Other Notes? My provenance: http://file770.com/?p=20397



Bidding opens on Wednesday, May 25, 2016 at 12:01 a.m. Eastern (time zone conversions). It will close on Sunday, June 5, 2016 at 4:00 p.m. (time zone conversions, countdown) unless bids are received in the last ten minutes (learn more).


Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge by Paul Krueger
wood cat
kate_nepveu
Originally posted at Con or Bust by Quirk Books. All comments must be made there.

Last Call at the Nightshade LoungeItem Name & Description: 1 copy of Paul Krueger’s debut novel Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge


Description: Bailey Chen is fresh out of college with all the usual new-adult demons: no cash, no job offers, and an awkward relationship with Zane, the old friend she kinda-sorta hooked up with during high school.


But when Zane introduces Bailey to his monster-fighting bartender friends, her demons become a lot more literal. It turns out evil creatures stalk the city streets after hours, and they can only be hunted with the help of magically-mixed cocktails: vodka grants super-strength, whiskey offers the power of telekinesis, and tequila lets its drinker fire blasts of elemental energy. But will all of these powers be enough for Bailey to halt a mysterious rash of gruesome deaths? And what will she do when the safety of a “real world” job beckons?


This sharp and funny urban fantasy is perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World, and grown-up readers of Harry Potter. Includes 15 recipes from a book of ancient cocktail lore.


Starting Bid: $10


Shipping: Ships anywhere.



Bidding opens on Wednesday, May 25, 2016 at 12:01 a.m. Eastern (time zone conversions). It will close on Sunday, June 5, 2016 at 4:00 p.m. (time zone conversions, countdown) unless bids are received in the last ten minutes (learn more).


My Best Friend's Exorcism by Grady Hendrix
wood cat
kate_nepveu
Originally posted at Con or Bust by Quirk Books. All comments must be made there.

My Best Friend"s Exorcism by Grady HendrixItem Name & Description: One copy of My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix (Author of Horrostor)


A heartwarming story of friendship and demonic possession. The year is 1988. High school sophomores Abby and Gretchen have been best friends since fourth grade. But after an evening of skinny-dipping goes disastrously wrong, Gretchen begins to act…different. She’s moody. She’s irritable. And bizarre incidents keep happening whenever she’s nearby. Abby’s investigation leads her to some startling discoveries—and by the time their story reaches its terrifying conclusion, the fate of Abby and Gretchen will be determined by a single question: Is their friendship powerful enough to beat the devil? Like an unholy hybrid of Beaches and The Exorcist, My Best Friend’s Exorcism blends teen angst, adolescent drama, unspeakable horrors, and a mix of ’80s pop songs into a pulse-pounding supernatural thriller.


Starting Bid: $10.


Shipping: Ships anywhere.



Bidding opens on Wednesday, May 25, 2016 at 12:01 a.m. Eastern (time zone conversions). It will close on Sunday, June 5, 2016 at 4:00 p.m. (time zone conversions, countdown) unless bids are received in the last ten minutes (learn more).


Coder's Oath (art print)
wood cat
kate_nepveu
Originally posted at Con or Bust by Geek Calligraphy. All comments must be made there.

Image of matted Coder"s Oath.
Image of matted Coder’s Oath.

Coder’s Oath Art Print:


State your values and your best intentions as a programmer with this Oath. Border art reads “I will use my powers for good and not for evil” repeated over and over in binary.


Starting Bid: $35


Shipping: Anywhere in the US


Other Notes:

Print is a limited edition out of a run of 200, hand numbered and signed by the artist. Print comes matted with outer dimensions of 11″ x 14″. Ships flat.


Usually ships within 2 weeks. Tracking information will be sent upon shipping.



Bidding opens on Wednesday, May 25, 2016 at 12:01 a.m. Eastern (time zone conversions). It will close on Sunday, June 5, 2016 at 4:00 p.m. (time zone conversions, countdown) unless bids are received in the last ten minutes (learn more).


ARC of MJ-12: INCEPTION, first of a new series of spy-fi Cold War thrillers from Night Shade Books!
wood cat
kate_nepveu
Originally posted at Con or Bust by Michael J. Martinez. All comments must be made there.

book coverItem Name & Description: Get one of the very first copies of MJ-12: Inception by Michael J. Martinez, a new paranormal Cold War spy-fi novel and first in the MAJESTIC-12 series of thrillers from Night Shade Books.


From the author’s site:


It is a new world, stunned by the horrors that linger in the aftermath of total war. The United States and Soviet Union are squaring off in a different kind of conflict, one that’s fought in the shadows, where there are whispers of strange and and mysterious developments….


Normal people across the United States have inexplicably gained paranormal abilities. A factory worker can heal the sick and injured. A schoolteacher bends emotions to her will. A car salesman alters matter with a simple touch. And there are even stranger abilities than these, all seemingly stemming from a unique and reality-bending anomaly found in the depths of Hiroshima’s rubble.


Now, the government conspiracy known as MAJESTIC-12 has gathered together these individuals, called Variants. The government will use them if it can…and destroy them if it cannot.


This ARC will be signed by the author. MJ-12: Inception isn’t due out until September, so get your copy first!


Starting Bid: $15


Shipping: U.S. only


Other Notes While the book will be released in hardcover, this ARC is in trade paperback.



Bidding opens on Wednesday, May 25, 2015 at 12:01 a.m. Eastern (time zone conversions). It will close on Sunday, June 5, 2016 at 4:00 p.m. (time zone conversions, countdown) unless bids are received in the last ten minutes (learn more).


Sanderson: The Bands of Mourning audio CDs (signed)
wood cat
kate_nepveu
Originally posted at Con or Bust by Melita Kennedy. All comments must be made there.

CD coverItem Name & Description: Brandon Sanderson signed 10 sets of The Bands of Mourning audio CDs narrated by Michael Kramer. Included are special World of Mistborn earbuds. Listening time: 14 hours 41 minutes. I won one of them in a drawing from Macmillan Audio earlier this year but have not opened it.


Starting Bid: US$20


Shipping: No shipping restrictions.


Other Notes? Once the auction has ended, payment is confirmed, and I have your address, I will endeavor to send it within 1-2 weeks.



Bidding opens on Wednesday, May 25, 2015 at 12:01 a.m. Eastern (time zone conversions). It will close on Sunday, June 5, 2016 at 4:00 p.m. (time zone conversions, countdown) unless bids are received in the last ten minutes (learn more).


two free memberships to MidAmeriCon II
wood cat
kate_nepveu
Originally posted at Con or Bust by Kate Nepveu. All comments must be made there.

Con or Bust has the two free memberships available, first-come first-serve, to fans of color/non-white fans, for MidAmeriCon II, August 17-21, 2016, Kansas City, MO, USA. MidAmeriCon is the 2016 WorldCon; its Guests of Honor are Kinuko Y. Craft, Patrick Nielsen Hayden, Teresa Nielsen Hayden, Tamora Pierce, and Michael Swanwick, and its Toastmaster is Pat Cadigan.


In addition, as noted yesterday, there is a hotel reservation available at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown.


Plus there are lots and lots of other free memberships currently available; please check out the Upcoming Cons page for details. To request any first-come first-serve membership, see the Request Assistance page. And please spread the word!


hotel reservation for MidAmeriCon II; free Penguicon memberships through April 20!
wood cat
kate_nepveu
Originally posted at Con or Bust by Kate Nepveu. All comments must be made there.

An individual has donated to Con or Bust a transferred hotel reservation for MidAmeriCon II, August 17-21, 2016, Kansas City, MO, USA. MidAmeriCon is the 2016 WorldCon. This is a reservation only — not hotel payment! — but if you are a fan of color/non-white fan and would like a reservation at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown for a room with two double beds (currently from August 16 through August 21), please use the “request a membership” form on the Request Assistance page to claim it, first-come first-serve, by May 5, 2016.


Also, Con or Bust still has two free memberships donated by Penguicon, which must be claimed by tomorrow, April 20. Penguicon runs from April 29 – May 1st, 2016, in Southfield, MI, USA. It is a non-profit, community-run convention for open source software and hardware, science fiction, gaming, DIY, and more. Its Guests of Honor are Ann Leckie, Lingjia Tang, Jason Mars, Catherynne M. Valente, Deb Nicholson, and Ann Lemay.


?

Log in